State, local leaders issue public letter to US Senate opposing Trump’s Pruitt for EPA

Print More

More than 50 state and local elected officials signed an open letter to New Mexico’s US Senators and Congressional delegation urging them to publicly oppose President Trump’s nominee to lead the Environmental Protection Agency.

Scroll down to join these leaders in opposing Pruitt for EPA administrator.

As Oklahoma’s Attorney General, Pruitt sued the EPA at least 14 times to oppose clean air and water rules.  Mr. Pruitt also allowed Republican donors and oil industry executives to write his office’s climate change policies and official policy statement letters opposing climate change and EPA rules.

The full Senate is expected to take up his nomination in the coming weeks.

SPECIAL: Sen. Tom Udall to host telephone town hall on Pruitt nomination with New Mexicans and local environmental, progressive groups.

To: Sen. Tom Udall, Sen. Martin Heinrich, Cong. Ben Ray Lujan, Cong. Michelle Lujan Grisham, Cong. Steve Pearce

Dear Members of the New Mexico Congressional Delegation:

As elected officials from across New Mexico we understand the vital importance clean air and water play to the health of our communities, our children and the economic vitality of our state. That is why we write today to urge you to oppose President-elect Trump’s nominee to head the Environmental Protection Agency, Oklahoma Attorney General Scott Pruitt.

Mr. Pruitt has repeatedly sued the EPA to block clean air and clean water standards that protect the health and well-being of millions of New Mexicans. Throughout his career, Mr. Pruitt has actively worked against the mission of the agency he has been nominated to lead and he should be rejected by the Senate.

To give one especially troubling example to New Mexico where we deeply understand the need to protect our limited water resources, Mr. Pruitt has sued the EPA to overturn clean water safeguards for more than half the nation’s waterways, including streams that feed into the drinking water supplies of 117 million Americans.

Mr. Pruitt sued the EPA to overturn standards to curb mercury and other toxic air pollutants that will prevent up to 11,000 premature deaths and 130,000 asthma attacks per year. He has also sued to void standards to reduce soot and smog pollution projected to prevent up to 15,000 non-fatal heart attacks, 34,000 premature deaths, and 400,000 asthma attacks every year. These lawsuits seek to void needed clean air standards that directly benefit New Mexicans.

Mr. Pruitt also denies the overwhelming scientific consensus that climate change is real and is driven by human-made air pollution. He sued unsuccessfully to overturn the EPA’s scientific determination that carbon dioxide and other heat-trapping air pollutants are harmful. And he has sued to block the EPA from setting any limits on carbon pollution from power plants, the nation’s largest polluter.

Mr. Pruitt’s views and actions run counter to the EPA’s critical mission to protect our health and the environment and would put the health of New Mexican’s at risk. For these reasons we ask you to reject his nomination.


[Scroll down to see the list of state and local elected leaders who signed]

Add your name to this letter and we’ll send it to Senators Udall and Heinrich.

State and local elected signers:

  1. State Representative Deborah Armstrong, Bernalillo County
  2. Jim Baca, Former BLM Director, State Land Commissioner, Mayor of Albuquerque
  3. Jody Benson, Los Alamos School Board 2007-2011
  4. City Councilor Isaac Benton, Albuquerque
  5. Chris Calvert, Former City Councilor, Santa Fe
  6. State Senator Jacob Candelaria, Bernalillo County
  7. State Representative Gail Chasey, Bernalillo County
  8. David Coss, Former Mayor, Santa Fe
  9. City Councilor Pat Davis, Albuquerque
  10. Diane Denish, Lt. Governor 2003-2010
  11. State Representative Brian Egolf, Speaker of the New Mexico House of Representatives, Santa Fe
  12. State Treasurer Tim Eichenberg
  13. State Representative Daymon Ely, Sandoval and Bernalillo Counties
  14. State Representative Joanne Ferrary, Dona Ana County
  15. State Representative Doreen Gallegos, House Majority Whip,
  16. Dona Ana County County Commission Chair Paula Garcia, Mora
  17. State Representative Stephanie Garcia Richards, Los Alamos, Rio Arriba, Sandoval, Santa Fe Counties
  18. Rey Garduno, Former City Councilor, Albuquerque
  19. County Commissioner Billy Garrett, Dona Ana County
  20. City Councilor Diane Gibson, Albuquerque
  21. Mayor Javier Gonzales, Santa Fe
  22. PRC Commissioner Cynthia Hall, Bernalillo, Sandoval Counties County
  23. Commissioner Anna Hansen, Santa Fe
  24. Kathy Holian, Former County Commissioner, Santa Fe
  25. State Auditor Tim Keller
  26. State Senator Linda Lopez, Bernalillo County
  27. State Representative Georgene Louis, Bernalillo County
  28. State Representative Antonio “Moe” Maestas, Bernalillo County
  29. City Councilor Joseph Maestas, Santa Fe
  30. State Representative Javier Martinez, Bernalillo County
  31. State Senator Richard Martinez, Santa Fe, Los Alamos, Rio Arriba, Sandoval Counties
  32. State Representative Bill McCamley, Dona Ana County
  33. State Representative Matthew McQueen, Santa Fe County
  34. State Senator Cisco McSorley, Bernalillo County
  35. State Senator Howie Morales, Catron, Grant, Socorro Counties
  36. County Commissioner Debbie O’Malley, Bernalillo County
  37. State Senator Bill O’Neil, Bernalillo County
  38. State Senator Jerry Ortiz y Pino, Bernalillo County
  39. State Senator Michael Padilla, Majority Whip, New Mexico State Senate, Bernalillo County
  40. Ray Powell, Former State Land Commissioner
  41. State Representative Angelica Rubio, Dona Ana County
  42. State Representative Tomas Salazar, San Miguel, Santa Fe, Torrance Counties
  43. State Representative Debra Sariñana, Bernalillo County
  44. Linda Siegle, Santa Fe Community College Board
  45. State Representative Nathan Small, Dona Ana County
  46. City Councilor Gil Sorg, Las Cruces
  47. State Senator Liz Stefanics, Santa Fe, Rio Arriba Counties
  48. State Senator Jeff Steinborn, Dona Ana County
  49. State Senator Mimi Stewart, Bernalillo County
  50. State Representative Liz Thomson, Bernalillo County
  51. Carmie Lynn Toulouse, Public Education Commissioner, District 3, Bernalillo County
  52. Secretary Of State Maggie Toulouse Oliver
  53. County Commissioner Vice-Chair and School Board Chair George Trujillo, Mora State
  54. Representative Jim Trujillo, Santa Fe County
  55. State Representative Linda Trujillo, Santa Fe County
  56. County Commissioner Rock Ulibarri, San Miguel County Commission
  57. State Senator Peter Wirth, Majority Leader New Mexico State Senate, Santa Fe
  58. State Representative Sheryl Williams Stapleton, House Majority Leader, Bernalillo County